This leafy and popular park, set behind Marylebone High Street, is a closed churchyard and still contains various old memorials.
It is significantly larger than the nearby North side of Paddington Street Gardens. It consists of formal open grass areas, traditional shrub, rose and bedding displays, mature London plane trees, a shelter and a children’s playground. Public toilets also serve the site from Paddington Street. In the summer months events including open air concerts are sometimes held within this site.
The gardens were built in the 18th century as additional burial grounds for the St Marylebone Parish Church . The land on the south side was donated by Edward Harley, 2nd Earl of Oxford and Earl Mortimer in 1730.
One of the conditions of the grant of 1730 was that a workhouse for the poor of the parish should be built and this was done in 1750-52 , but is now demolished .
When the St John’s Wood burial ground opened in 1814, this one was officially closed although it was sometimes used for burials after this date and there are probably around 80,000 graves here.
In 1885 the gardens became a recreational ground which was officially opened by HRH Princess Louise on 6 July 1886. Most of the tombstones have been removed but the mausoleum in the south garden that was erected by the Hon Richard Fitzpatrick to the memory of his wife Susanna who died in 1759 aged 30 remains due to its notable design.
There is a statue of an Orderly boy by Donato Baraglia of Milan which was placed in the gardens in 1943.
And here is the location :